Asian Cabbage Salad with Cashews


I am trying really hard to get into salads.

It’s not that I don’t like them, per se. If you put one in front of me, I will eat it– even enjoy it! But I can’t seem to make a good one. The proportions are wrong, or the flavors are uninteresting, or there’s too much/little dressing.

That said, after an exam yesterday I indulged in a little culinary recreation, and this is what I came up with:

Now, besides being really colorful and appealing, this salad is also busting with antioxidants– thanks to the red cabbage and red pepper– and rounded out with some healthy fats and protein from some cashews. This might be more of a slaw, since there’s chopped cabbage involved, but let’s just call it a salad so I can say I finally made one I like. 🙂

Asian Cabbage Salad with Cashews

1/2 head red cabbage, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

1 carrot, julienned (I highly recommend buying a julienne peeler. Life is just better that way.)

2 tbsp peanut butter

1/4 cup sesame-ginger dressing (I picked mine up at the grocery store. Busy week!)

1 tsp hot sauce, such as Sriracha

1/2 tsp honey

squeeze of lemon juice

1/2 cup cashews

Combine chopped veggies in a bowl. Combine peanut butter, dressing, hot sauce, and honey in a food processor and blend until smooth. Pour over vegetables. Squeeze lemon juice over vegetables; toss to coat. Sprinkle with cashews. Makes 2-3 servings.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Soups and Salads, Vegetarian.

One response to “Asian Cabbage Salad with Cashews

  1. An edit: I made this again this week, and added bean sprouts and chow mein noodles. Extra delicious.

    If you’re making more than one portion, like for lunches, add the cashews just beforehand so they still crunch!

Leave a comment