Carrots and Coconut and Curry, oh my!


These babies are one of the few products of my garden experiment, which went horribly awry this year…

My old roomie Emily and I shared a garden plot for a class in college, and I really enjoyed everything about gardening. Particularly the smell of warm dirt and that intense pride that comes from cooking something you made from nothing. From seeds.

So I decided to get a community plot here in Charlottesville. I envisioned a miniature farm, where everything grew perfectly and I had enough time to water, weed, plant, and harvest despite the fact that I was up to my eyeballs in science classes. Right. What I ended up with are weeds significantly taller than I am, although there are also robust basil plants, armfuls of lettuce, happy tomato, zucchini, and cucumber plants– and these carrots, which I pulled out of the ground the other day. Let’s capitalize, then, on the results of this failed gardening experiment, while I try to determine how I could scale down my garden ambitions into something manageable for next year.

Ingredients

2 lbs carrots, scrubbed, peeled, and chopped

1 onion, diced

1/3 cup unsalted peanuts (optional)

a few tablespoons of olive oil

2 cups vegetable stock (I used bouillon cubes and water)

2/3 can coconut milk

1 tsp curry powder

1 tsp powdered ginger

1 tsp ground coriander

salt and pepper, to taste

fresh cilantro as garnish (optional)

Make It:

Saute the onion, carrots, and peanuts in the olive oil until soft in the bottom of a stockpot. Pour in the broth, bring to a boil, then simmer. Run this chunky mixture through your blender or food processor (in batches, venting so you don’t get splattered!) and then return to the stockpot, mixing in coconut milk and spices. Adjust seasonings as desired, then serve with good bread. Garnish with fresh cilantro, if available. Or feta cheese.

2 Comments

Filed under Soups and Salads, Vegetarian.

2 responses to “Carrots and Coconut and Curry, oh my!

  1. janet

    Those carrots look pretty darned impressive considering the neglect you allege! The soup looks yummy too. Just wondering, did it the soup change consistency after refrigeration? Bouillon is typically more salty than stock. Did it seem that way to you?

  2. I used Rapunzel’s low-sodium boullion, so it didn’t strike me as salty at all. I also didn’t have any leftovers 🙂 But, perhaps if your consistency changes, re-heating will fix it.

Leave a Reply

