Whole Wheat Pitas- Complete with Pocket!


I am on a total food detox after my (awesome!) Spring Break road trip. At the ripe old age of 22 I’m having a harder time tolerating even a few days of  rich food/no vegetables/ lots of booze/ no sleep. I need to rebalance! So, I’m sticking to produce, brown rice, nuts, milk, and Greek yogurt for a bit.

Except then I found this recipe for pita bread.

But I’m detoxing!

But I want pita.

Okay, let’s try to make it with whole wheat flour, then.

Fiber, y'all!

Ingredients

1-1/4 cup water

2 teaspoons active dry yeast

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

3 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

Make It

Dissolve the yeast and sugar in the water (warmed) to proof. Once you’re satisfied that your yeast is cooperating, combine the other ingredients in a bowl and then dump the yeast mixture on top. Mix into a dough. Knead until smooth, then leave in the bowl, covered, for an hour.

Preheat oven as hot as it will go– mine hits 500. Split the dough into eight pieces and roll them out into something like a circle (I can’t ever do it perfectly!) on a greased surface. Place the circles on a VERY well-greased cookie sheet (you’ll probably have to work in batches) and let them rest 15 minutes. Then put them in the bottom rack of the oven for a couple minutes, until they puff up. Move them to the middle rack for another minute until they brown in spots and look done to you. (The total cooking time is only like five minutes.)

According to the source of this recipe, the pitas can be stored in a Ziploc bag or airtight container, presumably at room temperature.

So now I need to find a recipe for hummus, right? Or falafel? What’s your favorite thing to put on a pita??

7 Comments

Filed under Bread., Breads

7 responses to “Whole Wheat Pitas- Complete with Pocket!

  1. Oh My GOSH!!! I love Pitas!! I especially love that these are WHOLE WHEAT!!! 😀 YAY! My favorite thing to put on a pita is either Peanut Butter and Bananas, Peanut Butter and Jelly, or Peanut Butter and Chocolate!!! 😉 Hummus and Falafels are great too! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  2. big whitey

    Gotta be crunchy peanut butter, but to be honest, butter and honey dripping out the other end has an awesome taste.
    Remember you can always split them for mini-pizza crusts.

  3. william clark

    Nothing better.

  4. theoriginalmamajan

    Crazy good looking Pita. I love to put anything in them, thin slices of ham and cheese! Especially if they are warm and crispy on the outside. I am going to try to make these this week. Thanks!!

  5. Marcia L.

    Molly: Stuff the pita with low fat cottage cheese flavored with tahini sauce (a couple tablespoonfuls) and mixed up with shredded lettuce, diced tomato, finely diced onion, and several grinds of black pepper. Top with alfalfa sprouts. Meat-lover version is line the pita with a slice of deli ham or turkey first. (This is like something we used to get at a basement sandwich shop in Harvard Square back in the 70s. Still good.) Love the blog.

  6. suzanne

    These are next on the to do list. Wondered what I was going to do with the whole wheat flour I purchased. I don’t need anything in them, just like to eat them.

Leave a Reply

